(Download bio ned / bio eng / bio deu)


The Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra was founded in 1987. Its members come from the ranks of the world famous Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Prior to 1987, the Orchestra was known as the Amsterdam Chamber Orchestra. During this period, from 1957 to 1987, the Amsterdam Chamber Orchestra made numerous recordings with conductors, such as Andre Rieu sr., Anton van de Horst, and Marinus Voorberg.


The Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra has performed at several important occasions, including the 1980 inauguration of Queen Beatrix, Queen of the Netherlands and during the State visit of the American President, George Bush Sr. to the Netherlands in 1989. The orchestra was also invited to perform during the ceremony of the royal wedding of the Dutch Crown Prince, William Alexander to Princess Máxima, on February 2, 2002, in the Nieuwe Kerk in Amsterdam. As a result of this performance, the CD, “Music from the Royal Wedding” was made. It sold more than 75,000 copies and received the unique “triple platinum” award.


Due to the great international interest in the Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra, the group has been invited to perform on several international podiums. Tours have included, Belgium, Italy, Spain, Germany, Finland, Portugal, Japan, and India.


The orchestra has made numerous CD’s, with the Schubert/Mahler and Beethoven/Mahler string quartets (conducted by Marco Boni) receiving the highest rating of five stars from the BBC Music Magazine, for both performance and sound technique. The newest releases, including works by Mozart, Haydn, Schubert, Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky, were recorded using the latest technology, the “Super-Audio-CD”, five channel system by PentaTone.


The Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra has performed with world renowned soloists, including Maria Joao Pires, Friedrich Gulda, Elane Rodrigues, Lynn Harrell, Jaap van Zweden, Marietta Petkova, Vesko Eschkenazy, Ronald Brautigum, Emily Beynon, Janine Jansen, Mischa Maisky, and Shlomo Mintz.




Mr. P.P. Spiering, chairman

Tel.: +31 (0) 35 621 9405

Mob.: +31 (0) 6 5132 8419


Mrs. I. Lantinga, secretary

Dhr. H. Halbertsma, treasurer

Mevr. mr. M. Shioda-Bresser, member

Dhr. F. Pot, member

Copyright 2012 © All Rights Reserved | privacy statement | disclaimer |